The Ngai Tahu Maori Law Centre employs three full time staff, including two lawyers who hold current practicing certificates, and a part time law clerk. The Manager is responsible for the overall operations of the Law Centre. The Law Centre also takes on several volunteers from the University of Otago.

Current staff:

Joy Smith - Manager

Desiree Williams - Staff Lawyer

Haines Ellison - Staff Lawyer

Posala Tioa - Law Clerk


The Ngai Tahu Maori Law Centre would like to say a farewell and thank you to Nicola Taylor and Des Tipa who both stepped down as board members at the end of 2014.

The Law Centre welcomes to the board Natalie Karaitiana, a representative from Otakou, and thanks Antony for stepping up to the role of Chair.

The Governance Board of the Ngai Tahu Maori Law Centre is made up of members form each of the local papatipu runanga and two further members co-opted for their skills and expertise.

Current Board:

Antony Deaker Kati Huirapa Runaka Ki Puketeraki
Jane Graveson Te Runanga o Moeraki
Fiona Curd Kati Huirapa Runaka ki Puketeraki
Tim Vial Te Runanga o Otakou
Natalie Karaitiana       Te Runanga o Otakou
John Dawson University of Otago - Faculty of Law
David Ehlers Webb Farry - Legal Profession Representative


Telephone: 03 477 0855
Freephone: 0800 626 745
Fax: 03 474 2766


Level 1, 258 Stuart Street,
(Corner of Upper Stuart Street & Smith Street)

Sun rise